More Election Perspectives

I love to study history, if for no other reason than it can put current events into perspective. I recently came across a couple of artifacts that to me show that in our political system, there is nothing new under the sun.

The first artifact came from my in-laws’ basement. My wife and I had planned to sell our house and take over their house, and expecting a quick sale we moved a lot of our things into their basement to make our house less cluttered for showings. Now, a year and a half later, we found ourselves sorting through our things that had been down there for a year and a half looking for items to take to Goodwill to make some room in the basement. While my wife made a run to Goodwill, I rearranged some items and walked around a little bit. I saw a stack of books that had been in the basement for years. Looking through them, I saw a book titled “Is Eisenhower God’s Man for America?” I didn’t pick it up and read it, but I’m sure I’ve seen similar titles for more contemporary (Republicrat) Presidents.

Another thing I saw was in a book. Our library has a book sale at least once a year, and we went to the fall sale somewhere in the last couple of weeks (I’ve been so busy everything tends to run together) and I picked up some interesting titles. Once of the books I picked up was “The Memoirs of Richard Nixon”. While flipping through this rather large hardcover book, I saw a picture of one of Nixon’s campaign ads when he was running for the house. Guess what it said? “America needs change! Vote Richard Nixon, WW II Combat Vet for House.” Heh, don’t we have somebody campaigning on the “change” platform this time around?

There is nothing new under the sun.

Leave a comment