CBN News – A Radical Gospel: Practicing What We Preach

CBN News – A Radical Gospel: Practicing What We Preach

It sounds so simple, and yet at the same time, how many of us are actually doing it? We pray, we may fast, we read, we share our concerns with our church friends, but how many of us truly take the Gospel out there to the world? I’m guilty of this myself.

I’ve had the thought on my heart for a little while, and this article gives me the perfect excuse to launch into it. I have, to this point, kept my blog fairly secular. That wasn’t actually my intent; just the way it has worked out. I’m not even sure if my blog is read regularly, but I guess if I updated it regularly, maybe it would be read.

Read the article and come back for my thoughts.

I have not always been a Christian. Contrary to popular or denominational belief, nobody is. That is why Jesus told us (Joh 3:7) ” Marvel not that I said unto thee, Ye must be born again. ” It was almost three years ago that I was born again. Prior to that I wasn’t. I wasn’t very happy to have the Gospel preached to me in those days. I had no need for it. What I was doing was just fine. That, of course, doesn’t make it right. Some of us have a habit of getting a little overzealous in our preaching. We somehow believe that it is up to us to save everyone. Yet that is not the case. The Lord Jesus didn’t convert everyone, and what makes us think that we will too? Besides, our job is to preach the Gospel. It’s the Holy Spirit’s job to convict people.

I would like to say that I believe that “Accept Jesus Christ or go to Hell!” is a HORRIBLE witness. Any of us who use or have used it should be ashamed of ourselves. When did the Apostles use that in that book of Acts? Did Paul or Peter or Jude recommend it? I don’t think so. We use that when we get exasperated and run out of arguments, and cast it out as a nuke in the hopes that it will hit the target. I’m not aware that it ever has in almost 2000 years of church history. Maybe it won compliance, but I doubt it’s ever won a heart.

Besides that, who is going to believe someone who has that as their best argument? How many of use were conversions that took years of seed planting and nurturing before we were led to Christ? It’s possible that to win one soul, you may have to spend DECADES of careful witness before a soul is convicted. Sometimes it happens at once, sometimes it doesn’t.

Dr. Anthony Flew, the atheist professor who recently decided that there is evidence for intelligent design, has been witnessed to by C.S. Lewis. C.S. Lewis, as my understanding has it, died the same day that President John F. Kennedy was assassinated. It took a long time for THOSE seeds to take root, didn’t it?

All I’m saying is, let’s cut out the weak arguments. Let’s live our lives at a witness for Jesus, always ready to give an answer for the hope that is within us with meekness and fear. Study your Bible, and learn to reason. People will respect that.

Labels:

Leave a Reply

